Author Topic: Advise me citrus masters!  (Read 3125 times)

zephian

• USA, CA, Yuba City Zone 9B
    • View Profile
Advise me citrus masters!
« on: September 12, 2018, 11:39:22 PM »
Sorry if this is a long post. I've got some issues with my Citrus trees right now.
They all appear to have some leaf curl in new growth and possible leaf miner. Is there any thing I can do to treat these short of spraying a pesticide? If I absolutely have too I can, but the wife would prefer a 'natural' solution. The trees are Naval Orange, Meyer Lemon, and Pomelo. Not sure what variety.

Any help is appreciated.

Lime

Lime

Orange

Orange

Lemon

Lemon

Lemon

Lemon

Pomelo

Pomelo

Orange

Lemon

Pomelo Leaf

Pomelo sundamage? Very hot summer. Should I paint this over?
« Last Edit: September 12, 2018, 11:45:26 PM by zephian »
-Kris

TooFarNorth

• U.S.A., Georgia, 8A
    • View Profile
Re: Advise me citrus masters!
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2018, 06:58:40 AM »
Zephian, I'm no expert, but that is leaf miner damage on your leaves. The only non pesticide solution I know of is horticultural oil sprayed every 5 to 10 days until new signs diminish. They look bad, but mature trees will still recover and produce. That does look like sunburn on your Pomelo. I see it on some of the leaves also. Painting with 50/ 50 mix of latex paint and water should help. Maybe some of the more knowledgeable members will give you more solutions.

TFN

fyliu

• Burbank/Covina, CA 10a
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2018, 03:43:30 PM »
That's all leafminer damage. You could have applied pesticides early on during the new flush. The bugs are long gone from there once you see the damage. They're looking for new flush to lay their eggs. They can't penetrate mature leaves.

Try not to prune away the damaged leaves if your plants are not very big yet. It will slow down their growth if you prune off all the new growth.

zephian

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2018, 03:55:32 PM »