Author Topic: Best time of year to start air layering a mango tree?  (Read 4544 times)

chad6159

• Cape Coral, FL
    • View Profile
Best time of year to start air layering a mango tree?
« on: December 10, 2018, 04:05:17 PM »
Hey guys I have tried searching on this and I would think this would be a pretty easy thing to find but I cannot find the info anywhere.

What is the best time of the year to start an air layer on a mango tree?

I started two at the beginning of October and just checked today and there is basically no root growth on one (starting to bulge so probably will pop a few roots out sometime soon) and the other one had probably 6 roots but they were only a half inch to an inch long.

From what I have heard and seen most people let it go a month and a half to two months. Is that too short? Also I am completely new at air layering, this is my first try at it, so I am just happy that it seems like roots are forming!

561MangoFanatic

• Loxahatchee, FL
    • View Profile
Re: Best time of year to start air layering a mango tree?
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2018, 01:47:36 PM »
Mango trees aren’t best suited for air layering. They need a tap root or they eventually die from lack there of from my understanding and that’s why mango trees are grafted rather than air layered.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2018, 02:10:14 PM by 561MangoFanatic »
Sergio

chad6159

• Cape Coral, FL
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2018, 02:16:04 PM »
Hmm that is interesting. Every time I go to fruitscapes their big mango trees are loaded with air layers.

Cookie Monster

• Broward, FL Zone 10b
  • Administrator
  • Eye like mangoes
    • Tamarac, FL, 33321, 10B
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2018, 06:46:05 PM »
Most prefer to graft their mangoes over layering. I would be really interested to see Steve's mango layers. When I've purchased from him in the past, they've all been grafts.