Author Topic: What Mangos am I MISSING?  (Read 4768 times)

Mr. Clean

• FLMangos.com
    • US, FL, West Palm Beach, Zone 10a
    • View Profile
    • Florida's Finest Mangos
What Mangos am I MISSING?
« on: May 25, 2012, 11:08:20 AM »
I am looking for high productivity mango trees with good disease resistance (plant and forget type trees) that taste good and are fiberless.

My in-ground collection of mango trees include:

Carrie
Coconut Cream
Glenn
Keitt (for late season purposes)
Lemon Zest
Mahachanok
Nam Doc Mai
Pina colada
Pineapple Pleasure
Pickering
Sunrise
Sweet Tart

Many of the trees are the new Zill's varieties, which I have little knowledge of, but I am optimistic.  Recommendations for one or two more?

In about ten years I may regret planting this many mango trees.
www.FLMangos.com

110+ fruit trees/plants; 60+ mango trees; 9 jackfruit; 6 avocado; 3 persimmon; longan; and a dog that keeps raccoons and squirrels away.

HMHausman

• Mod Emeritus
    • USA, Fort Lauderdale, Broward County, Florida, Zone 10B
    • View Profile
    • Pines Ticket Defense, LLC
Re: What Mangos am I MISSING?
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2012, 11:27:19 AM »
Can't exactly factor in the recent Zill introductions as they are new plantings at my house.  Off the bat, I think I would go with more later cultivars as you seem to be loaded with earlies.  In the running for me would be Neelam, Valencia Pride, Beverly and/or Kent.  If I was going to add anything to your early selections it would be Angie or maybe a Southern Blush or Spirit of 76. That should pretty much complete your collection.  Happy selecting!

Harry
Harry
Fort Lauderdale, FL 
USA

zands

• mango_zango
    • Zone 10b, Florida, USA, 33321
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2012, 11:35:44 AM »
I am looking for high productivity mango trees with good disease resistance (plant and forget type trees) that taste good and are fiberless.

My in-ground collection of mango trees include:

Carrie
coconut cream
Glenn