Author Topic: Best Haskap/honeyberry varieties?  (Read 1073 times)

Tropicaltoba

• Canada, Manitoba, Winnipeg, zone 3
    • View Profile
Best Haskap/honeyberry varieties?
« on: February 04, 2023, 05:28:42 PM »
Has anyone tried Japanese honeyberry/haskap varieties? I Have several haskaps from the university of Saskatchewan breeding program(tundra, aurora, boreal etc). I was wondering if anyone has tried Japanese cultivars specifically the “Blue” series. Has anyone tried these? I’m wondering if they are worth getting.

Enkis

• Italy 8b
    • View Profile
Re: Best Haskap/honeyberry varieties?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2023, 10:22:34 AM »
I have zero experience with honeyberry but i just bought 2 plants. I wanted to pick two sweet varieties and based on my research and availability i decided on aurora and zojka.
In particular as far as my research goes aurora is one of the most appreciated varieties but i never tested it myself.
Keep planting and nobody explodes

FloridaManDan

• Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2023, 10:53:30 AM »
I bought some honeyberries for trial in FL from HoneyberriesUSA. Their site lists a ton of varieties including those you mentioned and gives a berry flavor and wine profile in addition to other cultivar info.

https://honeyberryusa.com/honeyberry-plants-1.html

Tropicaltoba

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2023, 08:55:12 PM »
I find it pretty funny that I someone in Florida wants to try to grow fruit from northern Canada, while I spent years designing a greenhouse to grow what you can do in your backward with ease.

Let me know how it goes. I’ll give updates this year if I get a good crop.

Daintree

• Boise, Idaho - zone 6, with a zone 12 greenhouse...
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2023, 09:52:05 AM »
I like Blue Pagoda and Indigo.
I used to have a bunch of these before we switched to raised beds. Make sure you have a lot of space, they do get big.