Author Topic: Dekopon Log Zone 8b/9a North Florida  (Read 18960 times)

LaCasaVerde

• pensacola
    • View Profile
Dekopon Log Zone 8b/9a North Florida
« on: October 21, 2016, 12:36:40 AM »
Hi all.  After reading Millets postings and scant others on the net it became apparent to me the need for more actual information on growing this particular  citrus. Id like to preface this log by saying that Im not a pro citrus grower. Im a backyard citrus student of 15 years. Many of those years spent trolling the net looking for information when I got into a bind.  Hopefully this log will give someone else some new ideas.  Please feel free to add to, correct or nullify any information on this log for the benefit of others.

This post starts recording information on Shiranui/Dekopon performance for others  in North Florida or those in similar grow zones.  There are  2 test plants : First planted last year  in November 2015 to test conventional wisdom and the second in June of this year. Both are in ground. I am  currently building a greenhouse around them and several other citrus trees which will share the space.

Background Information:
Pensacola Florida zone 8b/9a (depending where you live. I happen to be in on 9a by five miles). Water table 3 feet. Sandy soil. Full sun at 8 or more per day. Well water irrigation- ph 5.5 steady.  Climate- hot humid hot then 3 months of winter which have included 8 sub 32 events lowest at 27 degrees. Up two three weeks of constant 38-50  degrees  night lows. Mild winter last year.