Author Topic: Anyone here from Canada?  (Read 795 times)

Priyanka

• Canada
    • View Profile
Anyone here from Canada?
« on: August 11, 2018, 04:06:58 AM »
Hi! Is there anyone here from Canada growing tropical fruits at home? I have been growing lots of potted tropical flowers for several years now in zones 5-6a, but I am pretty new in growing fruits. Since having success with figs (without overwintering it in a garage or something. I don't have a garage or a basement...I live in a southeast apartment. I just left the pot in my living room in winter then dragged it outside in spring. Now I have figs!), I got a little more adventurous and ordered a black sapote and an Alphonso mango to be grown in containers. They're both in 3 gallon nursery pots.

I have a few questions as a newbie, please help if possible. What's the minimum pot size for both of these plants? My fig is in a pot that's between 10-15 gallon (it's a large terracotta, about 18" diameter). Will these plants do well in similar sized pots with root prunings every 1-2 years? They will be outside from spring-fall in 6-8 hours full sun. My apartment is fairly bright even in our stupidly eeky winter. The natural lights coming from the large window on a sunny day + the ceiling lights seem to be enough for my other tropicals (plumeria, jasmines, orchids, croton, bay leaf, meyer lemon, fig etc). Will that be fine for these as well? I use organic Pro-Mix potting soil, organic compost, organic bone meal, organic hen fertilizer or liquid fish fertilizer, crushed eggshells, vegetable & fruit peels etc for all my plants (including my seasonal outdoor container garden) and they respond well to that. I am guessing the mango and black sapote will do as well? Or do I need to add something else to make them thrive? I know mangoes love high nitrogen fertilizer, so I'm gonna get some for it. Anything else? Also, please feel free to provide any helpful tips and suggestions, thank you!

The_Last_Saxon

• Vancouver, Canada