Author Topic: How to prune Dream tree  (Read 1502 times)

SonnyCrockett

• Charleston, SC (8b)
    • View Profile
How to prune Dream tree
« on: June 14, 2017, 05:46:12 PM »

I'm new at Annona growing (I know.  Please, don't ban me from the forums!  ;)).  How should I prune  my small Dream trees?

simon_grow

• USA, San Diego, CA, Zone 10a
    • View Profile
Re: How to prune Dream tree
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2017, 06:40:40 PM »
Har or Frank can probably answer better but I would prune that main leader to about 18 inches or so but it depends on your overall vision of your final tree structure you are aiming for. Annonas grow very tall and you are in zone 8b so won't you have to move your tree indoors or protect it in Winter?

I like to keep my cherimoya trees canopy low to the ground for easier hand pollination and bagging and harvesting.

Simon

bsbullie

• USA, Boynton Beach, FL 33472, Zone 10a
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2017, 08:15:12 PM »
I wouldn't say it would grow very tall.  Yes it will need to be brought in during winter.

That tree looks like its in a small pot (based on dollar bill used for reference).
- Rob

SonnyCrockett

• Charleston, SC (8b)
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2017, 08:31:34 PM »
I wouldn't say it would grow very tall.  Yes it will need to be brought in during winter.

That tree looks like its in a small pot (based on dollar bill used for reference).

I was planning on repotting a bunch of plants this weekend, if I can make time.  I will probably leave in a pot this year and put in the ground next year (with winter protection of.course).

jegpg1

• Punta Gorda, FL
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2017, 09:21:10 PM »
Isn't that a rolinia?

achetadomestica

• FLORIDA 9b
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2017, 09:42:53 PM »
I would put plant in at least a 7 gallon pot if you want to keep in a pot till next year. I would put a bamboo