Author Topic: Blue Java banana experiences  (Read 4666 times)

RodneyS

• Cerritos, CA (Zone 11a)
    • View Profile
Blue Java banana experiences
« on: June 08, 2017, 12:00:28 PM »
I currently have a Dwarf Namwah & Dwarf Jamaican Red.  I love the Dwarf Namwah - the thick trunk making staking unnecessary, the fruit production, the flavor etc.  Dwarf Jamaican Red, however, grows slow as molasses.  It's having faster growth this year than previous years, but I've been anticipating trying the fruit for some time.

I wanted to know about Blue Java, and if it's another banana variety I should grow, here in SoCal

noochka1

• Miramar, FL 10b
    • View Profile
Re: Blue Java banana experiences
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2017, 03:39:06 PM »
I've been growing Blue Java for about 6 months.  Haven't tasted the fruit yet, but the plant grows quickly.   Got it at about 18" and it's over 6' now.

bsbullie

• USA, Boynton Beach, FL 33472, Zone 10a
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2017, 05:43:32 PM »
Jamaican Red is one of the best tasting IMO.  It will take 24 month to fruit in our climate so it may be even longer in Cali.

I also highly recommend Pisang Raja and Kandrian in terms of taste.

Nothing wrong with Blue Java either.  Its whitish and fluffy creamy, like pure banana ice cream custard.
- Rob

Greg A

• San Diego County, California
    • View Profile
    • The Yard Posts
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2017, 05:53:56 PM »
I planted Blue Java at my Mom's house in Glendora (L.A. county) some years back and they do very well, and she and I and everyone else who tastes it likes the fruit. But I haven't tried too many of the other banana varieties commonly grown in Southern California so I can't say with confidence how it compares.
gregalder.com/yardposts/

bsbullie

• USA, Boynton Beach, FL 33472, Zone 10a
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2017, 07:44:00 PM »