Author Topic: -Grafting + Dwarf Citrus Questions-  (Read 2474 times)

franklazar26

• WI, Zone 5A
    • View Profile
-Grafting + Dwarf Citrus Questions-
« on: October 11, 2019, 03:28:14 PM »
I am trying to set out to create my own Dwarf fruit-bearing citrus. I am a beginner to grafting and have yet to attempt it but I have several small saplings that are very healthy. I have some naturally dwarfing rootstock, like a few flying dragons and I have a few others as well. I have seen a lot of grafting in action, mostly on apples being how far north I am, only youtubed citrus grafting and have seen many of fruitmentor's videos on grafting citrus, as well I have all the proper tools to graft, (germination mat, humidity, temp regulation, grow lights, am I missing anything?). I was wondering at what age is best to graft clippings to another tree that I want to stay dwarfed? Or if there are any real techniques that would work better for indoor grafting? I live in zone 5A so they must be kept indoors in the winter, but I have the warm environment replicated rather well in my growing closet haha.

Thanks in advance for any tips and info! I absolutely LOVE learning new things about citrus! 

brian

• Pennsylvania (zone 6) w/ heated greenhouse
    • View Profile
Re: -Grafting + Dwarf Citrus Questions-
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2019, 08:11:18 PM »
The most common grafting method for citrus seems to be T-budding.   https://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/citrus/budding/budding.htm

I personally fail over and over again doing this, but I think I'm just bad at it.   Supposedly success rate is 95% if you are good at it.

Lemons primarily, and some other types, can be grown from cuttings without having to graft. 

franklazar26

• WI, Zone 5A
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2019, 09:16:58 PM »