Author Topic: Central Valley, ca thread  (Read 4565 times)

DSotM

• Fresno, ca 9B
    • View Profile
Central Valley, ca thread
« on: May 04, 2020, 01:42:31 PM »
Hi guys,

I’m in Fresno and always looking to connect with other growers who share my same climate. Unfortunately most tropical fruit growers live in LA, San Diego or the Bay Area which have distinctly different climate than we do. As a whole, most populated areas in the valley are 9b. Sharing highs between 105-110 and lows between 25-30.

This probably won’t be a thread with a tremendous amount of users, but it’d be nice to get to know some of you guys are your experiences.

I’ve been relatively successful with mangoes, having weathered two winters and now the third summer for my Manila seedlings, Valencia pride, ice cream, ndm, and only 1 winter for keitt. Last year I found some named  banana cultivars to add to my collection. I had been growing unnamed large bananas for three years - those clumps are fruiting but I’ve yet to taste them to know if they’re worth keeping.

The named cultivars I’ve grown are dwarf ladyfinger, dwarf Mysore, ice cream, dwarf namwah, gold finger and dwarf cavendish. Gold finger and cavendish have not bounced back from winter well - both of the last years their main growing stem rotting from the inside after initially trying to push. Ladyfinger was quick to grow and is now fruiting - I would say it’s a great option (given that it’s fruit is tasty). Namwah received the least amount of cold damage.

My mangoes get casually draped with frost cloth but nothing particularly extensive. In the two winters I’ve had them all they haven’t received frost damage. I believe the lowest temps have been about 28f. Valencia pride and ice cream have both fruited.

I’ve also overwintered Barbados cherry with no protection under a queen palm for two winters. It looks like it’ll grow a lot this year. I’ve had pineapples grow and fruit, a couple have died to crown rot but most have survived.