Author Topic: Anyone growing Glenn, LZ, or Peach Cobbler seedling in So-Cal?  (Read 1514 times)

palingkecil

• Los Angeles
    • View Profile
Hello everyone,
I just ordered a Glenn seedling from Bob Wells nursery in Texas. It is 2 years old, and according to them is about 4 ft tall. I talked to their CS, and he said in their experience it will fruit in 2 years. They also have Lemon Zest, Peach Cobler, Pineapple Pleasure, Fruit Punch, Carrie,etc.
I have no experience growing a seedling mango.
If anyone could help, is it more challenging than grafted ones? Will the tree grow stronger than the grafted ones?
Thank you!

wslau

• La Palma, CA, USA, Zone 10b
    • View Profile
Re: Anyone growing Glenn, LZ, or Peach Cobbler seedling in So-Cal?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2020, 07:15:25 PM »
Unfortunately, buying a Glenn seedling is NOT really recommended since Glenn is a monoembrionic (Resulting seedling not being identical to parent) variety and any seedling will be a new variety (could be worse or better, but likely worse).
Buying a LZ seedling comes with a good chance that it will be true to type since LZ is polyembrionic (yields 1 zygote and the rest clones).
Peach Cobbler is monoembrionic, so any seedling of Peach Cobbler will NOT be identical to its parent.

In general, the planted (in ground) seedling will grow fairly strong, often better than grafted varieties on turpentine rootstock. Contrary to what the seller said, although it may fruit in year 2...it is better if you wait a year longer and sometimes more.  Fruiting while the tree is young will stunt the trees growth and may even kill it.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2020, 07:42:30 PM by wslau »
Warren

palingkecil

• Los Angeles
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2020, 07:46:58 PM »