Author Topic: When to repot  (Read 1948 times)

Florian

• Solothurn, Switzerland.
    • View Profile
When to repot
« on: August 12, 2018, 07:43:59 AM »
I have some citrumelo seedlings six of which are in a tiny community pot. I was wondering when the best time was to separate and pot them individually was. Should I repot now or better do it next spring?
Also, is there a general rule when to repot citrus?
Thanks!

brian

• Pennsylvania (zone 6) w/ heated greenhouse
    • View Profile
Re: When to repot
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2018, 12:49:28 PM »
I can't say when the best time is, but I've successfully separated a tangle of a dozen or so ~6" trifoliate orange seedlings in a single large port without any issues.  I suspect you will be fine, just be careful not to rip the roots.

In general I've read you should repot every year to a pot a few inches in diameter larger. 

Walt

• USA, Kansas, Kanopolis, zone 6
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2018, 02:54:51 PM »
I am a novice compared to many here.  But a few years back I bought a 1 gallon pot with about 30 trifoliate orange seedling for root stocks.  They were about 6 months old.  When I transplanted them each to a 1 gallon pot, I didn't loose even one.  So it must not be too hard.

Millet

• Colorado
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2018, 03:02:55 PM »
You will find the seedlings very easy to separate.  You can do so any month of the year, if not any day of the year.  There is a common nursery saying that a tree should be transplanted when it is 2 times the height of the container.  Transplanting once a year, or at the very least 2 years is also a good rule.

Ilya11

• France, Paris region, Vaux le Penil, middle of Northern z8
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2018, 05:31:01 AM »