Author Topic: Clumping Bamboo recommendations needed (for screening)  (Read 4212 times)

S t a r l i n g

• Australia
    • View Profile
Clumping Bamboo recommendations needed (for screening)
« on: November 06, 2017, 02:57:14 AM »
I need to screen off a large area on my property and have decided to use bamboo. I need something that is clumping and won't go completely feral. Something very hedge-y that grows to height of around two stories. I was considering the variety 'slender weaver' but maybe there's something out there that's more suitable, I'm no expert on bamboo.

It will  be planted in rows to create a boxed off area, I would wager the total distance ( though I've not measured it out) will be something like 200M, thereabouts.

It's incredibly expensive here in Australia--has anyone successfully grown bamboo from seed?

Rannman

• Dragonfruit collector
    • Australia
    • View Profile
Re: Clumping Bamboo recommendations needed (for screening)
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2017, 05:50:05 AM »
Have you thought about Lilly pilly’s? Pretty quick growing, easy from seed and edible fruits. That’s what I’m using to block out my neighbours.

pineislander

• Bokeelia, FL
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2017, 07:54:17 AM »
I think bamboo is expensive because it is a specialty item and takes a while to propagate. Seeds are hard to come by because bamboo may take decades to mature and make seed. The nurseries also usually don't grow the 'common' varieties, even across the clumping types. They grow the more unusual types with special colors or forms for collectors. On my property I have a timber type and  offered it for free to the bamboo nursery across the road. They didn't want it because it was 'too common'.