Author Topic: 'Coconut Cream' Mango Patent Application  (Read 13574 times)

murahilin

• Administrator
    • USA Greenacres, Florida Zone 10b
    • View Profile
« Last Edit: March 12, 2013, 08:22:37 AM by murahilin »

CTMIAMI

• View Profile
Re: 'Coconut Cream' Mango Patent Application
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2012, 05:01:50 PM »
I'm not an expert in tree patents. I personally think we have enough with patented drugs. Some one that has a couple of patents told me that once a tree has been propagated and is owned by more than one person it can not be patented.   Let's see if there is someone that knows for sure
Carlos
 Tweeter: @carlosdlt280
www.myavocadotrees.com
zone 10a Miami-Dade County

Tropicalgrower89

• Zone 11a, Florida
    • Pembroke Pines, FL, 33024, 10b
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2012, 05:22:04 PM »
I apologize if this is a dumb question, but if cross pollinate using coconut cream as a parent with, lets just say carrie; will that be allowed since coconut cream is patented or does it just affect the "naming" or re-selling process?
Alexi

Tropicdude

• Broward County, Florida, USA
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2012, 06:38:09 PM »
I apologize if this is a dumb question, but if cross pollinate using coconut cream as a parent with, lets just say carrie; will that be allowed since coconut cream is patented or does it just affect the "naming" or re-selling process?

I'm no expert, but if you cross Coconut Cream with another variety, it would no longer have a patent because it would no longer be a Coconut cream.

Unlike, GMO crops,  where its the actual Genes or sequence of genes that is patented because they are unique in that created product and would never occur naturally at random.

If that unique gene is passed on sexually to another plant, that plant may  have proprietary patented genes.