Author Topic: Old Cultivars vs New  (Read 11422 times)

natsgarden123

Old Cultivars vs New
« on: April 19, 2012, 11:04:00 AM »
I have never seen this specifically asked:   Lets say someone is starting out-just bought a new house-wants to plants some trees ( My neighbor is such a person-he is admiring my trees)- What advice would people here give? Id like to see a discussions about the older, established cultivars vs the new. What would you tell my neighbor? 

I'd like to see this discussion-I'm pretty new to the online fruit forums.... so be kind to me!  :-*

murahilin

• Administrator
    • USA Greenacres, Florida Zone 10b
    • View Profile
Re: Old Cultivars vs New
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2012, 11:20:05 AM »
It really all depends on what he likes. If he likes the older ones plant those, if he likes the newer ones he should plant those. There is no right answer, it's very subjective.

With some types of fruit there aren't really many older varieties that would grow in S Fl such as peaches, plums, and blueberries. The newer ones developed by UF and some other Universities are really the ones that do well. With other species such as mango, there are excellent older and new varieties and it depends on his taste.

bsbullie

• USA, Boynton Beach, FL 33472, Zone 10a
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2012, 12:41:20 PM »
I have never seen this specifically asked:   Lets say someone is starting out-just bought a new house-wants to plants some trees ( My neighbor is such a person-he is admiring my trees)- What advice would people here give? Id like to see a discussions about the older, established cultivars vs the new. What would you tell my neighbor? 

I'd like to see this discussion-I'm pretty new to the online fruit forums.... so be kind to me!  :-*