Author Topic: best tasting guava ?  (Read 23971 times)

greenman62

• CharlesitaveNB
    • [url=https://vgruk.com/]vgr uk[/url]
    • View Profile
best tasting guava ?
« on: September 28, 2015, 06:06:05 PM »
i have several guava, most are still small
2 fruiting trees
tste is good, but, im not experienced enough to know what is really good for a guava.
i got 2 plants from Home Despot. $3 each (couldnt pass it up)
on was called Mexican White, the other was Asian red (or, Hong Kong red , or Mayla red ???- i forget)
they are almost 4ft tall now.

I am looking for a sweet guava
although i am fairly happy with mine, "sweet" is not an adjective i would use to describe it.
i also love the aroma.

i hear Jalisco Rojo and Allahabad Safeda are very good
but, after searching an hour, i cant find one for sale

any ideas where to get a very good tasting guava ?
Will it likely be better than my Home Despot ones ?

Don

• Brisbane Australia zone 10b
    • View Profile
Re: best tasting guava ?
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2015, 08:23:52 PM »
Not experienced with guavas but my little psidium guineense produced about 50 nice little fruit that tasted like fresh strawberry when still yellowy free and a mix between strawberry pineapple or strawberry passionfruit when fully coloured. Don't know where you could buy a plant but I think it is well worth planting. Very nice.
Don

greenman62

• CharlesitaveNB
    • [url=https://vgruk.com/]vgr uk[/url]
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2015, 09:57:35 AM »
thanks Don
i actually have seedlings of  guineense which just sprouted
(at least i hope its them)

i am a bit confused about this though.
some websites said the leaves are roundish, one site showed very long narrow leaves
and another showed normal guava leaves.
also, reports on taste vary from very acidic, to sweet.

Is there a mis-ID problem with this species ?

Don

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2015, 07:31:37 PM »