Author Topic: NYC Citrus  (Read 2924 times)

Chris S

• NYC
    • View Profile
NYC Citrus
« on: April 27, 2020, 02:23:06 PM »
Hi Everyone,

My name is Chris and I'm new to this forum, but I've been growing subtropical plants here in NYC for a few years and have become very interested in experimenting with cold hardy citrus in the ground. I already have Poncirus Trifoliata, but want to test some hybrids or other species. I'm located in Zone 7b, right near the coast with an average annual low just above 5F. We rarely hit 0 here, maybe once a decade or less.

Some of the potential candidates I'm considering are:
Morton Citrange
Rusk Citrange
Thomasville Citrangequat
US-852 Citrandarin
Ichang Papeda
Dunstan Citrumelo

I've reached out to Stan McKenzie, but unfortunately he's out of stock for most of these. However, I've found a source offering Morton Citrange and Ichang Papeda. My only concern is that they are on their own roots and this might affect hardiness, which in my climate, I'll need every bit of additional hardiness I can get. I don't believe Ichang Papeda is usually grafted onto PT, but I think Stan grafts most of his citrus to this rootstock. My question is, will this affect the hardiness enough that I should avoid buying the Morton Citrange? They also offer Troyer Citrange, but I couldn't find much information on this variety so any info is much appreciated.

Thank you all for your help!

SoCal2warm

• zone 10 and zone 8a
    • View Profile
Re: NYC Citrus
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2020, 02:57:27 PM »
The candidates that would have the best chance of doing well are, in this order:
US 852 and Tai-tri
possibly some sort of kumquat-trifoliate hybrid (but not citrangequat)
Citrumelo

Ichang papeda would be pretty borderline where you are. At the very least, I expect it would need a very optimal warm spot outside, protected from the winds, possibly up against a building. I am not sure if it could survive or do well there.