Author Topic: Parafilm Experience / Issues of Cracking  (Read 5600 times)

behlgarden

• CA, Zone 10 B
    • View Profile
    • LED Bulbs for Landscape Lighting
Parafilm Experience / Issues of Cracking
« on: April 09, 2012, 01:58:43 PM »
This is my first time grafting. I read here where some folks suggest stretching parafilm before applying to the cleft or bud union areas. I did that, and 24-hoyrs after bud eye was inserted into the root stock, the parafilm had cracked open. In my opinion Parafilm is simply not a good medium for grafting althogh it may work. It does not that "Grow and Stretch with me" capabilities that Buddy Tape may have.  I was amazed how quickly Cherimoya tree's branch started to heal/swell 24-hrs into grafting that it cracked parafilm due to excessive stretch.

I got this monster roll so I am now using it a lot, stretched and tight closer to the union and then not so stretched on outer layers.

I have already ordered Buddy Tape (for me and few folks in our group), hope to have it within a week. Has others experienced cracking in parafilm?

adiel

• Zone 10b Miami FL
    • View Profile
Re: Parafilm Experience / Issues of Cracking
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 02:08:31 PM »
I never had any issues with Parafilm and have been using it for years.  This might help you: Do not stretch the parafilm like you would the green nursery tape.  They are both meant for different purposes:

Purpose of each:

Parafilm: For holding in moisture.  Not to be used for holding items together.  Usually use it over the red grafting rubber bands.

Nursery Green Tape (or grafting rubber bands): For holding the graft (scion and rootstock) tightly while the graft heals and calluses.
Adiel

Cookie Monster

• Broward, FL Zone 10b
  • Administrator
  • Eye like mangoes
    • Tamarac, FL, 33321, 10B
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2012, 02:33:26 PM »