Author Topic: Sumo Seedling  (Read 10916 times)

JustJoshinya

• Los Angeles, CA
    • View Profile
Sumo Seedling
« on: May 01, 2015, 07:49:04 PM »
I have been growing out a sumo mandarin seed for the past 3 months 1 seed sent up 3 sprouts 2 larger ones and 1 smaller one, both the larger seedlings stopped growing and slowly declined after about the first month. Those 2 died, the smaller seedling has continued to grow but is struggling it started losing chlorophyll and stopped top growth. When i repotted it the roots had new white growth tips so i repotted and gave it a good watering. i use distilled water at pH of like 5.5-6 after i put the nutrients in it. the soil i use for it was cactus/palm/citrus mix and i added in perlite. i thought maybe it was losing chlorophyll due to inadequate light levels so i moved it out onto the patio into some direct sunlight for a few hours of the day. it gets watered about 1 time a week a deep watering. this seedling is the smallest of the 3 and i believe to be the zygotic seedling but who knows really. here are some pictures of its development, wondering if you guys think i should be doing something different or just keep doing what im doing and see if it improves and sends out new growth.

fyliu

• Burbank/Covina, CA 10a
    • View Profile
Re: Sumo Seedling
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2015, 08:46:34 PM »
Thanks for posting your experience. Sounds like you're right about it being the non-clone. Can't be sure unless you pulled apart the seedlings to find out. Hopefully its quality is similar to the parent.

I find that scales find their way to my potted plants in general, without any visible ant activity. Good to check once in a while.
The other thing is overwatering for potted plants but it doesn't look like that's happening to you.

Millet

• Colorado
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2015, 11:08:51 PM »