Author Topic: Orange Frost Hardy Satsuma  (Read 8018 times)

Sanddollarmoon

• View Profile
Orange Frost Hardy Satsuma
« on: June 24, 2014, 01:18:55 PM »
Hi, I am new to Citrus. When I was at walmart the other day I was pleasently surprised to see hardy satsumas for sale at Walmart. Many were bearing fruit, however I sacrificed productivity for size and bought an approximately two foot specimen, labeled ‘Orange Frost’ Hardy Satsuma.

Reading up on the variety, I found it to be a 2014 Texas Superstar. Anyone else growing it or it's sister variety, Arctic Frost?

http://www.plantanswers.com/Articles/OrangeFrost.asp

manfromyard

• USA, Ga, 8a
    • View Profile
Re: Orange Frost Hardy Satsuma
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2014, 10:02:44 PM »
I'm growing it in a container. I just bought it this year. I would love to find one at my walmart for trial outside, considering I paid $60 for one at Pikes.

buddinman

• USA,TEXAS. Lumberton, 8, 77657
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2014, 09:18:52 PM »
I doubt it can be successfully grown outside where you live.

Mark in Texas

• Fredericksburg Texas, (central TX), zone 8a
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2014, 02:55:45 PM »
Reading up on the variety, I found it to be a 2014 Texas Superstar. Anyone else growing it or it's sister variety, Arctic Frost?

http://www.plantanswers.com/Articles/OrangeFrost.asp

I am, planted in the spring.  It's taking off like a ruptured goose.  I'll get a pic of it and post it. Supposed to be cold hardy down to 10F.

Mark in Texas

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2014, 10:24:18 AM »
I doubt it can be successfully grown outside where you live.

Zone 7a, no way.

Leave it up to Walmart to sell what won't work for the local community.  I see plant material for sell, fruits trees for example, that will fail in our area.  They're just not suited in more ways than one.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2014, 10:28:12 AM by Mark in Texas »

Tom

• USA, Alabama,Montgomery, zone 8