Author Topic: Tips for grafting onto my Mango tree  (Read 1212 times)

Gonzo65

• Hollywood, FL
    • View Profile
Tips for grafting onto my Mango tree
« on: July 08, 2019, 03:50:01 AM »
I am new to grafting and am looking to graft onto my tree. I have been growing it from seed for about 7 years now and it has produced no fruit. I was wondering where I would graft onto and if I can graft half of the tree (so that half is the new kind and half is the original tree). Would appreciate any tips or ideas. Thanks guys!

FloridaBoy

• South Florida
    • View Profile
Re: Tips for grafting onto my Mango tree
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2019, 07:48:04 AM »
Go to youtube and search TrulyTropical.  She makes a video that shows you how to topwork a tree with a different type of mango.   What type of seedling did you plant?

edzone9

• Zone 10 SW Florida
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2019, 12:35:03 PM »
It’s a fun project I’m doing the same !

Good luck!

Ed

TT VIDEO
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=LyDpXouUAiU
« Last Edit: July 08, 2019, 12:39:49 PM by edzone9 »
Zone 10

mangomanic12

• Phoenix, AZ
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2019, 01:12:01 PM »
Hi Gonzo , you can do it.
I started watching you tube videos on how to graft for a full week last summer.
I then bought parafilm & buddy tape  ( from Amazon) some stretchy rubber bands #117 , $1.00 plastic boxcutter type thingy from the .99c store with extra packs of disposable  blades 6-8 in a pack from the .99c store.
I only do cleft grafts which now i get at least 90-95% success. I practiced all summer on my neighbors huge citrus trees and now love doing it and so will you.
I have to admit i cut my thumbs a few times in the beginning ( price to pay for learning a new skill) , but it was worth it. Now i can graft guavas, mangoes, citrus or whatever with no problem.
A few tips
Always make sure you use a sharp cutting tool.
Spray your cutting tool with a solution of water and alcohol b4 and after grafting