Author Topic: Parfianka Pomegranate Blooming...like now  (Read 381 times)

Eggo

• USA, California, LA/OC, Zone 10b
    • View Profile
Parfianka Pomegranate Blooming...like now
« on: September 25, 2023, 02:29:47 PM »
I'm new to growing pomegranate.  This is the 2nd year of Parfianka for me. It's only about a 3.5 ft bush.  I got 3 fruits this year. In the last few weeks I have a branch sending out blooms, it's September and the end of summer. Is this normal or bizarre? We have had some weird weather this year in California.

John B

• USA, San Diego, CA, Zone 10a
    • View Profile
Re: Parfianka Pomegranate Blooming...like now
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2023, 03:41:22 PM »
Your location is a bit different then mine. My parfiancas are still all green, but did send out additional flowers. I usually get a late push when the weather changes. Most never make it to full maturity before it goes dormant.

Eggo

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2023, 04:09:44 PM »
Thanks John, does those late bloom ever overwinter and mature next year? Or is it just a waste and I should just remove the blooms?

spaugh

• San Diego County California
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2023, 04:29:40 PM »
Our poms are ripening now.  The blooms were pretty late this year but not that late.  I would leave them and just see what happens. 
Brad Spaugh

John B

• USA, San Diego, CA, Zone 10a
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2023, 04:32:45 PM »
Thanks John, does those late bloom ever overwinter and mature next year? Or is it just a waste and I should just remove the blooms?

They will not overwinter. The ones that made it pretty close (just a few leaves on the tree while it's going dormant)  ended up getting scratched off by rats since most of their food was gone in winter. I'm in 10a San Diego (on a hill though) and I had fruit hang until December.

If the season stays warm, they may ripen for you.

Eggo

• View Profile