Author Topic: suggestions for a good avocado that would go well with reed cocktail tree?  (Read 2840 times)

boxturtle

• usa, ca. garden grove Orange County
    • View Profile
only have 1 space for an avocado tree and I love reed but I want to prolong my avocado season a bit?  I love the way reed taste and I like that they aren't too vigorous I like sir prize too but heard it's extremely vigorous.   Thanks for the input in advance

SonnyCrockett

• Charleston, SC (8b)
    • View Profile
I'm no avocado expert, but since no one else is helping you... Maybe Holiday?  It's a smaller tree.  Not sure about season though.  There are so many good varieties, it really depends on what you like and more importantly what your growing conditions are like.  I think GEM was supposed to be pretty good as well and be a smaller tree, but you'll need to double check.  The season for GEM is supposed to be different from Reed.

I just planted:
Reed
Pinkerton
Sir Prize
GEM
Holiday
Fantastic

The Fantastic was on clearance at the end of the year at Lowes and I could help myself.  I don't know much about it yet, so couldn't recommend.  The other ones seemed to have a lot of good reviews.

johnb51

• USA Deerfield Beach, FL Zone 11a
    • View Profile
Gwen? Small tree, I think.  Isn't that the favorite of Will Brokaw?
« Last Edit: June 11, 2017, 01:05:40 PM by johnb51 »
John

Mark in Texas

• Fredericksburg Texas, (central TX), zone 8a
    • View Profile
Gwen? Small tree, I think.  Isn't that the favorite of Rob Brokaw?

Yes, and the one I have is loaded.  It tends to over produce and is a weak, slow grower as opposed to Reed which is a beast.  Sir Prize and Ardith are vigorous too.

Hate to be the deal killer but a lot of Texans get suckered into those nasty Tex-Mex varieties like Fantastic.  Be prepared to use it as rootstock.

johnb51

• USA Deerfield Beach, FL Zone 11a
    • View Profile