Author Topic: Green Sapote best light/sun conditions?  (Read 724 times)

CeeJey

• Arizona 9b
    • View Profile
Green Sapote best light/sun conditions?
« on: November 04, 2023, 06:25:43 PM »
Hey all,

I've had a green sapote seedling survive its first awful summer out here in Phoenix under 50% shade cloth in a pot (did pretty well actually, kept growing steadily), and I'm thinking about where to plant it for long term. My thought is to plant it in a moderately shady space and let it go get the sun when it is ready similar to some other plants that start out as under story in their original habitat, but I wanted some other opinions since I have little experience with this one. It's kind of rare so I don't want to put it in a place that is going to burn in the summer once it gets too large to effectively use shade cloth but I also don't want to stunt it's growth too much. The one mamey that I had was surprisingly sun tolerant before it died of general nutrient pissiness but that's my only point of reference.

Thoughts?

K-Rimes

• Santa Barbara
    • View Profile
Re: Green Sapote best light/sun conditions?
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2023, 07:58:42 PM »
I recently saw a fruiting lucuma here on the central coast which was living in mostly shade of mac nuts and a white sapote, was producing very nicely. I would be looking for a part shade area in AZ. I just can't see one tolerating full sun 100f+ and low humidity.

I did plant a green sapote in full sun at my office, but it's less than 1 mile from the ocean so it's pretty moderate. It hasn't even blinked and is growing nicely. 1 gallon size. I'll get a photo of it this week if I remember to.

elouicious

• Houston, Tx
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2023, 08:06:40 PM »
The one at San Diego Botanic garden are in part shade except for the tippy tops of the trees (like 40ft tall)

CeeJey

• Arizona 9b
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2023, 08:51:18 PM »