Author Topic: What do you do with the wood you prune from your trees?  (Read 4889 times)

Spoontaneous

• USA, So. Florida, Palm Beach County Zone 10
    • View Profile
    • spoon photos
What do you do with the wood you prune from your trees?
« on: September 16, 2013, 11:48:40 AM »
Hi Everyone ~ I just now signed onto your forum after perusing for a day or two. In the interest of 'full disclosure' I should mention that I am not a grower. In fact, my wife has me living in one of those condo 'boxes' at the moment. My background is in Horticulture (Ornamental) and while I am (was) fairly knowledgeable of Zone 7 plant culture.... I know very little with regards to Zone 10ish and in particular these tropical fruits.

So... you might be wondering why in the heck am I showing up on the board. Well.... actually it is for admittedly self-serving purposes. While you folks are passionate about the tropical fruit trees.... I am passionate about the wood that comes from them.

I carve and sell (mostly online) wooden spoons. Some are functional, some are non-functional..... and most are dysfunctional. Beings that I live in Florida nowadays, I have had the opportunity to carve some of the exotic woods found here. I have a strong liking for carving spoons from wood that maybe no one else has carved from.... or at least, wood that generally would not be considered for that purpose.

Local woods I have carved include Surinam Cherry, Carambola, Yellow Tabby, Bougainvillea, Sea Grape and Shaving Brush tree.... among others. Most of the wood I gather from other folks brush piles..... which I enjoy doing because in my mind.... it gives the tree a sort of 'second life' in addition to that 'circle of life' decaying process.