Author Topic: Is my Passion Vine Self Fruitful?  (Read 883 times)

ChaseRoyall

• Tampa
    • View Profile
Is my Passion Vine Self Fruitful?
« on: October 20, 2020, 04:55:50 PM »
Hey all, I am relatively new to growing and definitely new to growing passion fruit. I picked up this vine a little under a year ago as a young plant and it’s started to flower! After reading up on pollination I went about the process of manually pollinating the vine. I did see something about yellow passion fruit not being self fruitful so I would need another vine. I’m not sure if this is true or not so some additional information would be welcome.

Additionally I’m not sure what type of vine this is. I bought it form a festival as a passion fruit vine and have no clue if it is the yellow or purple variation so any help in identifying would help. Basic I want to know if I need another vine for this plant pictured below to produce fruit or if my self pollination did the trick. Thank you!

roblack

• Miami, FL 11A
    • View Profile
Re: Is my Passion Vine Self Fruitful?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2020, 10:13:29 PM »
keep hand pollinating with its own pollen. if you can mix it up, even better.

sometimes it takes a while before they set and then hold fruit.

part of growing up

Plantinyum

• Bulgaria , near Sofia city , planting zone 7
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2020, 04:19:03 AM »