Author Topic: Indoor lighting whats the best bang for the buck?  (Read 8969 times)

Avoman

• Sanger,Ca.
    • View Profile
Indoor lighting whats the best bang for the buck?
« on: November 26, 2019, 04:08:45 PM »
Im no expert on indoor lighting what types give the best bang for the buck is everything going to led type , im using flurisent now but seems like it will be phased out in a few years, im mainly looking for growing avocado trees indoors or in green house to extend daylight hours perhaps and im looking for best type of lighting thats good for fast growth im not after lighting thats suited to make the tree flower.

brian

• Pennsylvania (zone 6) w/ heated greenhouse
    • View Profile
Re: Indoor lighting whats the best bang for the buck?
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2019, 04:15:33 PM »
We were just talking about this on citrus forum a week or two ago:  http://tropicalfruitforum.com/index.php?topic=33652.0

I believe current best is the LED lights available on amazon similar to this:   https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07QY16YRD/

I just got one a month or so ago and it seems to be working quite well.

From my brief research, the evidence for the distinction between growth and flowering lighting is weak.

Avoman

• Sanger,Ca.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2019, 04:52:08 PM »
Thanks for the link i will go read it.

Mistozy

• North San Diego County
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2019, 05:06:45 PM »
I'm a big fan of these 315w ceramic metal halide lights.

https://www.amazon.com/TopoGrow-Horizontal-120V-240V-Enclosed-Reflector/dp/B075KJ1W4G

Great for vegetative growth and low power draw.

Avoman

• Sanger,Ca.
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2019, 05:47:39 PM »
What is the life of the bulb and the cost of bulb itself ?

Mistozy

• North San Diego County
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2019, 06:22:58 PM »