Author Topic: Lujan Jaboticaba - 7b in Ground Test  (Read 346 times)

Sir Graftalot

• Where the wood at?
    • U.S.A.
    • View Profile
Lujan Jaboticaba - 7b in Ground Test
« on: April 17, 2024, 03:43:42 PM »
So I have this Plinia oblongata - Lujan Jaboticaba seedling (2-gallon size) that I'm thinking of planting in the ground in zone 7b based on cold tolerance noted by Trade Winds Fruit. Am I making a foolish gamble? GreenDreams is selling this plant for $95 hate to see it freeze to death when winter comes.

https://www.tradewindsfruit.com/plinia-oblongata-lujan-jaboticaba-seeds

https://www.greendreamsfl.com/online-store/Jaboticaba-Tree-Lujan-Plinia-sp-2G-p579803755

K-Rimes

• Santa Barbara
    • View Profile
Re: Lujan Jaboticaba - 7b in Ground Test
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2024, 03:45:28 PM »
Folks in 8a/8b lose almost all the growth from the season off of their Campo Ramons. I know of one in Seattle and one outside on Vancouver Island. Waiting for Spring updates from them.

I don't see the point for 7a / 7b outdoors with no protection. Maybe 50% of the years they'd survive, but that one brutal frost and they're donezo.

Sir Graftalot

• Where the wood at?
    • U.S.A.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2024, 03:53:54 PM »
Folks in 8a/8b lose almost all the growth from the season off of their Campo Ramons. I know of one in Seattle and one outside on Vancouver Island. Waiting for Spring updates from them.

I don't see the point for 7a / 7b outdoors with no protection. Maybe 50% of the years they'd survive, but that one brutal frost and they're donezo.

Of course I'll be giving it some sort of protection. As for method, maybe someone here can offer suggestions. I purchased this one with the intention of having a jabo in ground, in my zone (bragging rights and all that jazz). I really want to make it work. If it can survive 15F, per Trade Winds, it should be able to make it.

K-Rimes

• Santa Barbara
    • View Profile