Author Topic: Jaboticaba - Cutting in Water is Growing Roots  (Read 7061 times)

Marlohe

• USA, Texas, Dallas, 8A
    • View Profile
Jaboticaba - Cutting in Water is Growing Roots
« on: May 16, 2017, 02:08:01 PM »
Hello,  I am a VERY amateur gardner.  I bought a Jaboticaba tree at a grocery store in Dallas a few years ago.  I know this is not an ideal climate for Jaboticaba, but it has managed to survive in a pot near my house.  A friend of mine wants a tree, so I thought I would try snipping off about a foot of newer growth, dipping it in rooting hormone, and then sticking it in a vase of water with indirect sunlight to see if I could get roots.  To my shock, roots are developing.  They are only about 1/4 - 1/2 inch long.  Do I keep it in water longer until the roots grow bigger or should I stick the cutting in soil now?
« Last Edit: May 16, 2017, 02:57:32 PM by Marlohe »

Marlohe

• USA, Texas, Dallas, 8A
    • View Profile
Re: Jaboticaba - Cutting in Water is Growing Roots
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2017, 02:58:48 PM »

« Last Edit: May 16, 2017, 05:59:12 PM by Marlohe »

fyliu

• Burbank/Covina, CA 10a
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2017, 03:16:37 PM »
Cool. I would use a clean potting mix like peat and perlite to start it off in a small pot and then step up the sizes as the roots take up more and more room.

What hormone and concentration did you use? I've never seen or tried this before although I heard it can be done.

echinopora

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2017, 04:06:14 PM »
Do you have any in focus closeups? To my eye it looks to have a single alternate pattern with large buds, where the jaboticaba I am aware of tend to be opposing/small bud.

Marlohe

• USA, Texas, Dallas, 8A
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2017, 05:53:41 PM »