Author Topic: Best tasting fig for SoCal?  (Read 9596 times)

simon_grow

• USA, San Diego, CA, Zone 10a
    • View Profile
Best tasting fig for SoCal?
« on: April 27, 2020, 01:28:21 PM »
I recently got interested in figs and was wondering what are the best tasting varieties to grow in SoCal?

I am relatively new to figs and know very little about the different varieties available. I do know that there are several different flavor categories such as the berry tasting, honey, caramel, etc...

I like super sweet figs and will probably bag the fruit from fruit flies so I prefer larger figs so that I don’t have to bag as many.

I currently have VDB, Black Mission, Brown Turkey, Black Madeira on Brown Turkey, Yellow Longneck and Golden Rainbow.

What varieties will produce the sweetest and best tasting figs around the San Diego area? I know everyone has a unique palate but I would love to hear about your favorite varieties for each flavor category. Any pictures of the fruit, especially the inside, would be greatly appreciated.

Here are my newest plants
Yellow Longneck

Golden Rainbow

Simon

FruitFool

• san diego, ca, USDA zone 10a
    • View Profile
Re: Best tasting fig for SoCal?
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2020, 03:49:49 PM »
Figs do well here in san diego. There are so many varieties, its hard to say what is best and tastes are subjective.
From what I have tasted, Craven's craving is definitely better of the Black Madeira types and its bigger.
White Madeira#1 is a nice green skin fig. Bourjasotte Grise is very good too.
Last year I tasted Lampeira Prusch at Richard's fig gathering in Vista which was grown by Doug in North cal, that was one amazing tasting fig.
All CDD types are supposed to have similar taste, I liked CDD Rimada as well as CDD Grise at the fig gathering.
I am not into honey type sweet figs so very limited experience there - only tasted Peter's honey which was too sweet for me, I top worked my peter's honey tree into multi grafted.