Author Topic: Can you graft onto a graft?  (Read 863 times)

Keen

• Oahu, Hawaii, 12b
    • View Profile
Can you graft onto a graft?
« on: February 24, 2021, 02:34:30 PM »
Hello, I am new to fruit trees and newer to grafting. I am curious if it is possible to graft onto a graft? I have a Wurtz Avocado tree in my yard that is about a year old. I want to graft onto the main leader a malama variety, then after a few months of growth, graft onto the malama part a sharwill scion. maybe even graft onto that one in a few months a Murashige Avocado variety.
   Is this possible or does it not work like that? my intent is to make a avocado tree that fruits most of the year.
   and on a side note, will the wurtz, which is smaller than most trees, keep the overall tree small even though I've grafted larger more vigorous varieties? Please let me know! Mahalo.

Jagmanjoe

• USA, Florida, Lakeland, 9A
    • View Profile
Re: Can you graft onto a graft?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2021, 03:59:48 PM »
I am not sure about avocados but with mango trees people often top work a tree which generally was started as a graft itself.  So effectively we are grafting onto an existing graft with many mango varieties.

Santa Maria 9b

• Santa Maria, CA 9b
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2021, 04:27:26 PM »
Yes, you can graft that way. Here is a video of a guy with a similar multi-graphed avocado: https://youtu.be/XZve9AFCQ1s

An easier way to get nearly year round avocados, is to grow a Carmen Variety

Tropical Bay Area

• San Jose area, zone 9b
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2021, 04:35:41 PM »
This is called using interstock
Cheers!

Tommyng

• Acreage florida
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2021, 05:07:26 PM »
Yes, for avocados, you can graft onto a graft. Just make sure the original graft is fully healed.
Don’t rush, take time and enjoy life and food.

fruitnut1944

• Alpine Texas
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2021, 05:08:16 PM »