Author Topic: Transplanting Jaboticaba  (Read 3857 times)

phantomcrab

• USA, St. Petersburg, FL Zone 10a
    • View Profile
Transplanting Jaboticaba
« on: August 13, 2016, 08:12:40 AM »
What is the best time of year to dig an established jaboticaba (Grimal) and transplant it to another spot in my yard? The tree is about 3 feet tall.
Richard

simon_grow

• USA, San Diego, CA, Zone 10a
    • View Profile
Re: Transplanting Jaboticaba
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2016, 12:45:11 PM »
I transplanted my Sabara in Summer several years ago and it was fine, even in my dry climate. You can probably transplant it any time of the year with the optimal time being early Spring. I'm not a Jaboticaba expert so hopefully someone else will chime in. Keep your tree well watered after transplanting and you should also trim your tree after transplanting. If you damage a lot of roots during transplanting, trim not of your tree. Just try to avoid transplanting in extreme heat or cold.

Simon

FlyingFoxFruits

• Prince of Plinia
  • www.FlyingFoxFruits.com
    • USA, FEMA Region IV, FL Zone 9a
    • View Profile
    • Flying Fox Fruits
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2016, 02:02:41 PM »
anytime there is no danger of frost is good time (i would give the tree at least 6-8 weeks to get established before danger of a freeze).

I transplanted some large trees (red jabos), and got a freeze of about 29F that killed them...I think the root stress helped to put them on their death bead, but the freeze was the nail in the coffin.
www.FlyingFoxFruits.com

www.PLINIAS.com

https://www.ebay.com/usr/flyingfoxfruits

www.youtube.com/FlyingFoxFruits

https://www.instagram.com/flyingfoxfruits/
I disabled the forum's personal messaging system, please send an email to contact me, FlyingFoxFruits@gmail.com

Don

• Brisbane Australia zone 10b
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2016, 01:40:54 AM »