Author Topic: Getting Started Growing M Bijugatus/Oliviformus -quenepa, mamoncillo, genip, etc  (Read 1457 times)

BlakeGrowsInMA

• USA - Eastern MA
    • View Profile
Hi All,

I am a newbie to tropical fruit, looking to start growing indoors.  I'm planning on starting with a fruit I became obsessed with when I traveled to Yucatan MX and Guatemala - Melicoccus bijugatus/oliviformus.  I don't know which one I've had tbh!  Probably Oliviformus?

At the moment, my wife and I don't have much room, so I am only hoping to have one of each Bijugatus and Oliviformus trees - which we will be growing indoors. 

I have read about the Florida Bijugatus cultivars Queen and Montgomery, as well as the PR cultivars Sasa and Jose Pabon.  I have found seedlings and grafted plants from FL and PR online that I'm pretty sure are all Bijugatus.  It seems like they are hermaphrodite cultivars, so I'd only need one to get fruit. 
I have not found any info about cultivars of Melicoccus Oliviformus, or seen any of them for sale online besides the user "raulglezruiz" selling Oliviformus seeds on this forum a few years ago.  It seems Oliviformus is monoecius so I'd only need one to get fruit as well.

I've read everything about quenepa on this forum, and a fair amount from Google, but still have a few questions I am hoping to get some help with as I get underway in order to be successful.  Here are the main things I am wondering:

- Is any particular cultivar known as a superior rootstock with these trees?
- Do you know of any good sources for Oliviformus seeds, seedlings, or grafted specimens?
- Do you know of any specific Oliviformus cultivars to aim for?
- I have read that grafting is quite difficult with these plants - is it worth trying to make a multigrafted tree for Bijugatus?  If not, what cultivar would you have if you could just have one?

Ideally, I'm hoping to find a grafted specimen of each to purchase, but I know I may have to go from seed or seedling for Oliviformus at least.