Author Topic: Germinating hawthorn seeds  (Read 1173 times)

Tropicaltoba

• Canada, Manitoba, Winnipeg, zone 3
    • View Profile
Germinating hawthorn seeds
« on: January 26, 2024, 04:28:13 PM »
Has anybody germinated hawthorn seeds specifically succulenta and Douglassi? Acid scarification is mentioned, I was looking at using a refill of battery acid as the h2so4 source but I wasn’t sure about what molarity to use. Any experience doing this?

Tropicaltoba

• View Profile
Re: Germinating hawthorn seeds
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2024, 06:57:18 AM »
So I found commercially available sulphuric acid source, and am going to give acid scarification a go. I was a synthetic chemist in a former life so I know how to handle it. I’ll post updates.

bussone

• Philadelphia, PA (7a)
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2024, 11:02:53 AM »
So I found commercially available sulphuric acid source, and am going to give acid scarification a go. I was a synthetic chemist in a former life so I know how to handle it. I’ll post updates.

Is there a reason to not use something like 10% vinegar? Not strong enough?

Tropicaltoba

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2024, 07:30:20 PM »
I think it’s meant to recreate the digestive system of birds.i think they also need a bit of mechanical scarification like a gizzard.

Tropicaltoba

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2024, 08:05:43 AM »
I did the acid thing. Glad I wore full safety equipment. The acid burned off the outer seed coat, smoked like crazy and turned everything black. 30min soak rinsed it off and had beautiful looking seeds. Gonna stick in the fridge for 4 months… wish me luck.

gordonh1

• Western Washington, zone 7b/8a
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2024, 05:35:18 PM »
I'm working with hawthorn seeds, too. I did not use sulfuric acid and doubt it would be necessary.