Author Topic: How's your Persimmon Trees...any new spring flush?  (Read 1774 times)

puglvr1

• USA, Central, FL xxxxx, Zone 9b
    • View Profile
How's your Persimmon Trees...any new spring flush?
« on: April 01, 2023, 11:35:00 AM »
I planted 2 Persimmon trees last April (chocolate) and May ( Fuyu),...then Hurricane Ian hit Sept 30th and pretty much ripped out all the leaves and beat up the poor little tree. I didn't know if it was still alive but watered it on a regular schedule just in case. A few days ago my Fuyu started sending out some very small leaf flush but my Chocolate (purchased and told was a Fuyu, had no label) shows NO sign of life, I'm not sure if this variety is super sloooow to show signs of life, any one else have their Persimmons flushing and or blooming in Florida?

If anyone knows, how long do I wait before I declare it dead  :o
Also, do flowers appear after the new leaf flush? The new growths are too small to tell now and this is my first time growing Persimmons.

Thanks!!

Jordan321

• Melbourne, Florida. 9b
    • View Profile
Re: How's your Persimmon Trees...any new spring flush?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2023, 12:40:58 PM »
My Matsumoto is pushing two little buds just this week. Not sure if that is normal. (More than likely it proves I'm doing something wrong). But at least you aren't alone.

Flgarden

• Oviedo FL
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2023, 12:49:22 PM »
My fuyu wakes up the last of all.
Tanenashi, saijo, coffee cake and fuyu are showing small flower buds.
Ana
Ana

RS

• Central FL, 9b/10a microclimate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2023, 01:11:57 PM »
Fuyu is flowering here, yes they typically flower after the new spring growth flush.

Ichi-ki-kei-jiro is still half dormant, seems unusually late this year. I don't know about Chocolate, but would probably give it more time. You can always test by bending a small branch or scratching the bark. If it's flexible or green underneath, you should be fine.