Author Topic: When to pick citrus (dekopon)  (Read 1559 times)

sunny

• Thailand
    • View Profile
When to pick citrus (dekopon)
« on: November 24, 2019, 11:21:22 PM »
My dekopon is soft now, when i push the rind some juice is coming out and it smells great. But will this one turn orange in our climate (which is always hot). On internet i see totally orange dekopons grown in indonesia.

Should i pick it now since the color is getting more brown or just wait longer?

I have no experience with oranges/mandarins so any advice is welcome.

brian

• Pennsylvania (zone 6) w/ heated greenhouse
    • View Profile
Re: When to pick citrus (dekopon)
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2019, 11:39:08 AM »
Do you only have one fruit on your tree, or multiple?   If multiple I always pick the first once I see a bit of orange, then keep picking the next fruit at later stages of ripeness over a few weeks until quality declines, then I pick them all.

lebmung

• Romania, Bucharest,7b (inside city 8a)
    • View Profile
    • Plante tropicale
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2019, 03:35:24 PM »
Dekopon is a late ripening mandarin. In your climate because of high temperatures the mandarins don't get fully orange. But because you are in the northern part of the country where there is some cold temperatures at night like 6-12 C during winter some coloration happens.

Indonesia has different climate zones with mountains and plateaus. On those high plateaus they have warm temperate climates with temperatures dropping to 5C or even minus. Once I climbed to 3000 m altitude In Bali and I could see that every 1000 m there is different vegetation, and on top of the mountain quite cold.

Maybe you should wait more in Japan the are done in Dec-Mar for you maybe earlier one or two months , but don't expect your mandarins to get the same color like there.