Author Topic: achacha (garcinia humilis) seeds  (Read 3438 times)

bangkok

• View Profile
achacha (garcinia humilis) seeds
« on: March 16, 2014, 11:58:02 AM »
I have been growing 20 achacha seeds for 2 months now. I have 1 sprouted seedling and it has 3 stems with leaves. I carefully checked some seeds and they still look green behind the peel and saw a small root on 1 seed. Some are not so green anymore so i hope they are not rotting.

I read they sprout very slow but how long did it take you to get them sprouted?

« Last Edit: March 16, 2014, 12:01:31 PM by bangkok »

EvilFruit

• Dubai, UAE
    • View Profile
Re: achacha (garcinia humilis) seeds
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2014, 04:36:57 PM »
From my experience, Most Garcinia species that i have took about 40 days to sprout except Garcinia macrophylla which took 5 months.
Moh'd

simon_grow

• USA, San Diego, CA, Zone 10a
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2014, 04:46:43 PM »
Maybe try bottom heat to speed up germination. I'm just guessing but I would think 80-85 F would increase speed of germination. If they take too long to sprout, you have to worry about damping off.
Simon

Mike T

• Zone 12a
  • Cairns,Nth Qld, Australia
    • Zone 12a
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2014, 06:03:13 PM »
80f would constitute bottom cooling I think.

simon_grow

• USA, San Diego, CA, Zone 10a
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2014, 06:30:03 PM »
MikeT, you got a point, I forgot to check where he was coming from! Now I see he is from Thailand. Here in San Diego we are still experiencing nights around 50F so bottom heat around 80+ helps accelerate germination.
Simon

BMc

• Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2014, 07:40:09 PM »
Some pop up in weeks, others take months. Try to keep them on the dry side until they germinate as the slower ones do rot if kept too moist.