Author Topic: Suitable container size for long-term growing of starfruit and jackfruit  (Read 740 times)

SonnyJim

• New Zealand
    • View Profile
Hi everyone,

I am planning to repot my starfruits and jackfruit into large containers permanently. I am aware that seed grown trees like starfruit and particularly jackfruit have long tap roots which won't like being constrained by the boundaries of a pot. However due to circumstance I have no choice. Does anyone know a suitable container size for these species? Cheers 

Tropicaltoba

• Canada, Manitoba, Winnipeg, zone 3
    • View Profile
Re: Suitable container size for long-term growing of starfruit and jackfruit
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2023, 08:06:06 AM »
I am no expert in either, but I was able to get three starfruit off a plant that was completely ignored in a7 gallon container this summer. I am now taking better care of it. It is currently reflowing and setting more fruit. I’ll let you know how many set.

As for jackfruit, I was asking the same question a couple of days ago. I searched through all the threads and seems it needs a large container (25gallon) with considerable trunk girth (4”) before it is we’ll established enough to fruit in a pot.

Daintree

• Boise, Idaho - zone 6, with a zone 12 greenhouse...
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2023, 08:45:04 AM »
I have poor luck with jackfruit, but they do bonsai it and cut the taproot. Next time I buy a fruit I am going to experiment with taproot pruning in order to make it do better in a pot.
And yes, my carambola is doing great in a 5 gallon pot, I probably won't go bigger than 10 for it. My biggest pots are 25-35 gallons, and you would probably do fine with jackfruit in that.

Nick C

• New Jersey Zone 7A
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2023, 09:33:10 AM »
I currently have a jackfruit tree in a pot within that 30 gallon range

Tropicaltoba

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2023, 10:08:31 AM »