Author Topic: Fertilizers, fertilizers. 25 pound bags or nothing?  (Read 436 times)

LazarusLong714

• Outside of Cleveland, Ohio. Zone 6a.
    • View Profile
Fertilizers, fertilizers. 25 pound bags or nothing?
« on: October 09, 2023, 06:43:38 PM »
   I think I have been having "lack of fertilizer" issues.   Reading back through the forum, I have found that Citrus are "heavy Feeders" and really need to be fertilized.

I also read that some University (I cannot recall at this time, but due to the amount of research and new varieties developed there, I think it was in southern california) figured out the perfect ration for uptake in citrus plants is 5-1-3.    Of course I read about JACK'S PROFESSIONAL, but, being a new-to-citrus HOBBYIST, I can't justify buying a 25 pound bag of fertilizer.   With the amount of citrus trees I have now, and allowing for a 1000% increase, a 25 pound bag would still last me about 247 years in Northern Ohio.   Naturally, I reached out to the JACK'S customer service team, asking them if it were available in any smaller, sub-5 pound bag for us hobbyists that will never use 25 pounds.   

Don't misunderstand: I did read back to where Millet advised that it is only available in 25 pound bags, but I thought they might need to HEAR other people asking for it in smaller sizes.   The answer was not only "no" but "no, and here is a product that should perfectly suit your needs!".    I will add it below, and "quote" it.
      Anyway, any other suggestions for me regarding fertilizers for my little kumquats and lemon seedlings?   I saw a mention of FOLIAGE PRO.    Any nay-sayers on that one?   I like that you can limit the amount and use it daily or go a little heavier and use it less frequently.      Looking for suggestions.   Thanks in advance.

Lazarus.

"Thanks for reaching out and choosing Jack's! Our 25-5-15 does not come in any sizes below 25lbs. However, we do have a product on our Jack's Classic line that would be perfect for you.