Author Topic: Sweetest tasting cold hardy citrus  (Read 1388 times)

Unicyclemike

• Red Lion
    • View Profile
Sweetest tasting cold hardy citrus
« on: September 16, 2022, 05:07:05 AM »
What do you think is the sweetest tasting cold hardy citrus?  Do you grow it outdoors?  Where did you purchase it. I am just getting started and have caught the "citrus bug"  I am in zone 7.

Mike Adams

poncirsguy

• Cincinnati, Ohio, USA, 6a/6b
    • View Profile
Re: Sweetest tasting cold hardy citrus
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2022, 08:59:43 AM »
If you plan to grow outside and in ground you will need a citrus that ripen well before first hard frost.  Fruit is destroyed at 28F  Zone 7 is 0 degrees F.  There is no citrus that goes down to 0.0F that taste good.  There is also very few citrus that can go from first  fall frost to last spring frost without desiccating in zone 7  Too many non growing day to span.  If you are prepared to build a shelter for it to give it a 10F boost and shorten the non growing season by a month, there are a lot of sweet citrus you can grow.
  4 layers of glass walls and roof.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2022, 01:13:25 PM by poncirsguy »

Walt

• USA, Kansas, Kanopolis, zone 6
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2022, 11:56:23 AM »
Or if you are willing to grow in a pot and bring iy inside winters, you have some options.

or if you are willing to wait an unknown number of years, there will be some other options for outside, in ground.  We are working on it.  But not today.

Florian

• Solothurn, Switzerland.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2022, 01:47:55 PM »
Have a look at the Prague: https://tropicalfruitforum.com/index.php?topic=23499.0