Author Topic: Poncirus hybrid crosses  (Read 5165 times)

gordonh1

• Western Washington, zone 7b/8a
    • View Profile
Poncirus hybrid crosses
« on: April 21, 2023, 09:55:18 AM »
I'm doing some armchair breeding thought experiments here, so even though I'm not experienced enough to maybe dive right in, I am inspired enough by the conversations on this forum about cold hardy citrus breeding to imagine some breeding scenarios that could potentially work for people like me, with some land that could potentially be devoted to experimenting with growing out different populations in the hopes of finding a hardy, good-tasting citrus hybrid.

Practically speaking, what do we know about the progeny of crosses between Poncirus hybrids?  Reading the breeding discussions about F2 generations showing segregation of traits, such as cold hardiness factors (dormancy, deciduousness, winter buds, etc.), presumably the same be said about taste/flavor factors.  So, the F2 generations and later generations have a probability of producing the desired combinations of cold hardiness and desirable flavor characteristics.

What about instead of an F2 generation, we have a cross between two different Poncirus hybrids, such as citrumelo x citrange or citrandarin x citrange? What can be said about the resulting generation? Let's say we grow out as many seeds as possible of such crosses, there should be some that are hardier than the Poncirus hybrids we started with, right, just like Kumin's segentranges.

I'm wondering about this now because I'm thinking that a potential strategy would be acquire a collection of Poncirus hybrids and allow them to pollinate each other, and then grow out as many of those seeds as possible, outdoors in cold climates, in the hopes of finding some hardy progeny that have the higher quality fruits.