Author Topic: Lowering the greenhouse floor below ground level?  (Read 139 times)

Vlk

• Czech Republic
    • View Profile
Lowering the greenhouse floor below ground level?
« on: June 10, 2021, 09:33:37 AM »
Hi there,

I am about to build a small greenhouse about a week or so from now on and I've been playing with the idea of lowering the greenhouse base/floor below ground level.
Now I am no engineer and I am rather bad at math and physics, so please, bear with me. :D I was wondering what would be your take/opinion on this.

So the greenhouse is really small, say 2x3 m, about 2,5 m in height, made of hollow polycarbonate sheets, thicker than they are usually made, which should have higher insulation properties (up to 30% they say). I have no plans of heating it throughout the winter, so it will be a seasonal greenhouse from early spring to late autumn before the temperatures will drop (we don't have a particularly harsh winter, but the temps can drop really low (-27,5 C was last winter's peak, which was unusually harsh, it's usually around -10 to -15), and heating for tropical species would require a lot of power and it wouldn't be sustainable.

With that in mind, my initial plan was to build the greenhouse on a level with the ground (on clear ground, no concrete). Later on, I've gone through an article discussing greenhouse heating and one of the tips was to lower the floor of the greenhouse below ground level - they recommended 70-100 cm, but as far as I remember, it was just saying something about a trench and not an entire area of the floor.