Author Topic: ISO Annona/Uvaria/Fingersop plants and seeds  (Read 985 times)

Gulfcoastgardening

• Largo, FL, 10b
    • View Profile
ISO Annona/Uvaria/Fingersop plants and seeds
« on: September 18, 2021, 09:17:06 PM »
Hi everyone! I'm new to posting on the forums, I've been trying to grow a number of different annonas with limited luck. I have Annona glabra seeds planted, Annona reticulata, Annona senegalensis, Annona squamosa, Annona spinescens, Annona neoinsignis.

I've had a terrible time getting germination on a number of seeds I've ordered. I'm new to collecting but not new to growing, I think, often times; I'm getting crispy seeds.

Essentially I'm looking for seeds/plants of just about any tasty Uvaria/Annona species besides Annona glabra(I have a ton of glabra planted)

Dan

Kevin Jones

• Alabama - USA
    • View Profile
Re: ISO Annona/Uvaria/Fingersop plants and seeds
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2021, 09:25:36 PM »

W.

• United States, Alabama, 7b
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2021, 10:57:27 PM »
I have had similar problems in successfully germinating rare Annonaceae seeds. I tried on three different occasions, with seeds from three different sellers, to grow Uvaria rufa. I once got a single seed to germinate, but the plant was always a sickly runt and died within weeks. I wish I could help you with some rare Annonaceae seeds and growing advice, but I have pretty much given up on growing them. Maybe they are rare for a reason, as I have never had any problems germinating the common types of Annonas.