Tropical Fruit > Tropical Fruit Discussion

Land purchasing and search discussion

(1/13) > >>

driftwood:
Good evening everybody.

Normally I am intrigued on topics pretty much only on plants, trees, and seeds but tonight I have something else on my mind. This is mainly questions for anyone who grows fruit professionally. (No shade on balcony and backyard growers, feel free to chime in as well)

I am a young man from the US and love growing my seeds in containers and eating fresh fruit from the market and learning about botany in general. But I deeply desire to grow my own orchard.

I know the hard work it can take as I have rented a 15 acre farm in New Mexico in the past and have lived in San Diego County and Puerto Rico and been a caretaker for various properties. By trade I am a graphic designer, landscaper, and carpenter. However it seems like land ownership is constantly out of reach for me and I no longer have a desire in renting someone's land and improving it for their benefit.

It seems like good agricultural land is going up drastically in price. Not to mention areas that are subtropical and tropical like SD and Homestead. Even the gulf coast of florida is going up. I am not very interested in becoming a zone pusher and try greenhouses in places like arizona or texas, I would rather work in a place where I am able to grow the plants I would like to grow.

I do know that we are about to experience a pretty large land shift over the next decade, due to large land owners aging. I am willing to be patient for the right time and the right piece of land and the right price. I am building up my knowledge and skills, asking questions, and meeting people. But I want to know, how many people grow fruit as their sole income? Or do people mainly have a different profession? and move to growing fruit as they acquire land? Or was the land already in your family?